Home

This week is the last week of classmate interviews at Art 110! I can’t believe it! Time has gone by very quickly and I can’t believe my first semester of college is almost over! It’s been quite a ride in Art110 and I’ve met a lot of good people and I’m really grateful that I got to end the classmate conversations with Mariela.

Mariela is a junior at Cal State Long Beach and she is a criminal justice major. She wants to become a police officer and she actually works at a police station as a public safety officer. What she does at her job is patrol the city, direct traffic, writes out parking citations and she also goes along with the officers sometimes but she isn’t allowed to carry a weapon. The reason she wants to become a police officer is because when she was 17, she signed up for the explorers program and it made her realize that it was something she wanted to do.

I had never seen Mariela before Thursday but once I started talking to her, it felt like we already knew each other. I was honestly very inspired by Mariela because she’s someone who is very determined to do and be what she wants in life. She knows what she wants to do and she’s going for it! I hope that one day I can be like her and know exactly what I want to do. With that, we had a conversation about how I was unsure what I wanted to do and major in and honestly every time someone asked me about my major I got a little stressed out because I don’t know, but with Mariela I was comfortable because she reassured me that I am just a freshman and it’s my first semester and I have time to experiment and experience things that will take me to the right path. She also gave me great advice that all I have to do is get involved and socialize and be open minded because that’s what college is about.Β 

I’m glad Mariela was my last conversation because it was a good one, she’s such a fun and smart person. I want to wish her luck in all her endeavors and I hope she continues to succeed. Thank You Mariela!

You can visit Mariela on her website and learn more about her police work.

Leave a Reply

