Home

FullSizeRender3 Favorite Activities:

1. Student Choice: This activity was one of my favorites because I chose to interview my dad and it was honestly one of the easiest things to do. It was as if my dad and I were just having a normal conversation except I was recording our conversation with my phone. I also liked it because my dad was able to tell his story a little bit and to me it’s important for people to know how hard my dad worked to get himself here to live a better life. It’s an important story and it’s something that a lot of people can relate to. Because of my dad’s decision to leave his home as a teenager, I was given the opportunity to live a better life. So I think this is a great assignment because we get to do whatever we want and do what we’re passionate about.

2. Painting: Spray-painting was amazing! This was something new that I have never tried and I’m glad I did. I never thought that I would actually “tag” my name somewhere. Growing up, I was always told that tagging and graffiti were bad and that I should never do it. OnceI learned more about graffiti, I learned that there’s a whole world behind it and that so many people are passionate about it. It’s more about art than vandalism and I’m glad that I was shown a different perspective on graffiti. Spray-painting my name in gold was pretty cool too.

3. Kickstarter: The kickstarter assignment was also pretty cool! This allowed my friends and I to come up with a great idea that could potentially become an actual campaign. It was also very fun to make our video. We also got to go to the kickstarter film festival up in Griffith Park and I thought that was pretty cool. We got to see a lot of people’s ideas come to life and many short films were shown, a few which I enjoyed. Overall, I think that kickstarter is a cool thing (for lack of a better word).

3 Least Favorites: 

1. Teach One: This is my least favorite because I am not artistic and I have nothing to teach. So really the only reason I don’t like this is because I don’t know what to do for it. I want to do something creative but I lack creativity. I have good ideas it’s actually just difficult for me to execute them because I don’t have the ability to do that. I see it in my head but I can’t get it out. haha sounds weird but yeah this isn’t my favorite.

2. e-Porfolio: Again for this one, it’s not the assignment but more because I am not tech savvy. I barely got the hang of using my own macbook, its ridiculous. I feel like I’m as outdated as my parents lol. WordPress is really hard for me to use and trial and error is not an option for me, I hate getting things wrong and I don’t want to mess things up by accidentally deleting everything because I probably would.

Overall, this class was very fun and seeing the art every week was great. I got to experience many new things that otherwise I wouldn’t have if it weren’t for this class. I definitely don’t regret this class and I’m glad I switched over from theatre because I am really not the acting type. Talking to classmates every week was probably the biggest challenge along with talking to the artists because I know nothing about art. Talking to classmates is hard when they’re so reluctant to do so. I’m up for talking to my classmates but some of them didn’t seem very eager to. Talking to the artists was intimidating because I’m scared I might say something offensive or use a wrong term, I don’t even know what to ask. But, learning about their art and the stories behind them was one of the best parts of the galleries. I enjoy that, looking at good art even if I didn’t understand it sometimes.

This is a great class Glenn, it’s probably one of the best I’ll ever take, thank you!

One thought on “Week 12 – EC Activity – Feedback

  1. What could make WordPress easier to deal with? Should we do more in class? Should I make more “how to” videos for different things? Or…?

    What would help with making the artists conversations less intimidating? Should we cover a bit of “art basics” on Tuesdays so you’d have a bit of vocabulary to use? Should we use Tuesday to say a few words about what will be seen on Thursday and what some of the ideas / issues /elements are?

    That’s a shame that some classmates were hard to talk to. This activity wasn’t even my idea! A student once came to me and said I should do something to help students meet each other because it’s so hard in a big class. So this activity really came from that request. Obviously some peeps have been really great at interacting. Is there any format that’d make it more useful? Or less stressful?

    Thanks Conny!

    Like

Leave a Reply

