Home

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 12.26.21 PMUhm OKAY! First of all!, let me tell you how amazing and nostalgic this exhibit made me feel!

It was absolutely mind blowing! This is definitely one of my favorite exhibits ever from the galleries, mostly because it’s visual and the colors and just everything! It reminds me of Disneyland and I LOVE Disneyland! Michelle’s work is just so great and it’s art like this that I can stare at forever and be at peace because it’s very uplifting. The title of this show is “The Magic Hours” and it is very appropriate for thiScreen Shot 2014-11-16 at 12.31.11 PMs exhibit because my experience was very magical. I felt as if I were in a different world and it made me truly happy. There was just this feeling inside me that you get when you’re a little kid and you’re excited for christmas and christmas presents, that’s what it felt like to me, especially with the amazing animation that she was able to show us with projectors and canvases.

One of my favorites is this one to the left. I don’t even know how to explain this, I was speechless when I first saw it and it got me very excited. I was unable to speak to Michelle because she wasn’t there while I were there but, I do know that she had help with this piece from her boyfriend with the projection and fitting it onto the canvas. I wish I could go back and talk to her and just ask her HOW? How can someone be so creative and talented, I don’t understand it but I definitely appreciateScreen Shot 2014-11-16 at 12.25.44 PM it. My favorite part of this is definitely the trees and the sky, it’s just so peaceful and relaxing.

The colors she used were wonderfully and beautifully depicted in this piece, I like that she used them to enhance the little girls in the background but used dark colors to enhance the little girl in the front. It shows us the liveliness of the girls in the back and the sadness of the little girl walking away. This piece is called “The Long Walk” and its very fitting. I also love that light from the sun thats coming in and the city skyscrapers in the background, its amazing how much little detail was put into this piece and all of Michelle Thompkin’s other pieces.

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 12.29.32 PMThese were some of my favorite pieces but Michelle’s entire exhibit was amazing and jaw dropping. I believe that she (and her boyfriend) have a very bright future ahead. Her work resembles storyboards for animated movies and I hope that one day she can actually create an animated movie using her talent and characters, I believe it would bring a lot of happiness to many people.

This one to the left is called “Faces”. It brings me joy because of how happy the guy playing the instrument looks, he looks very at peace with not a care in the world. He looks happier than the guy walking past him and this shows us that everyone has a different story, as Michelle says. This man might not have much but he seems happy with his life as opposed to the guy in the green sweater. And, again, I like her use of the sun light.

I’d like to thank Michelle for sharing her amazing work with us, it brought a lot of joy to me and I’m sure to a lot of other people, I applaud her and I hope to see more of her work in the future.

More on Michelle Thompkins.

Leave a Reply

