Home

This week in theIMG_8414 galleries, I was touched by Christine Hudson’s exhibition, Grief. Her exhibition was a room surrounded by black curtains with a paper attached towards the back of the room and the whole floor was covered in teeth made of porcelain clay which when you stepped on, felt like “walking on eggshells” which is what she intended.

Looking in from the outside, I wondered what this exhibit could possibly be about. I thought the teeth on the floor were pebbles until I actually got close enough to see that they were in fact teeth. Walking on the teeth, I felt like I had to be careful because it sounded like they were breaking but they were made out of very sturdy clay. While I was walking around in the room waiting to read the artist’s statement, I wondered what could possibly be the reason behind this exhibit, like why teeth? that’s kinda weird, but once I read the statement I understood and it was hard to believe that this is a true story. Hudson’s statement describes what inspired her to create the exhibit, a true story, thIMG_8417e passing of her transgender friend.Β At the time, she was making teeth for a giant panda head so she continued to do so when she found out as a coping mechanism. There are approximately 125,000 teeth in the exhibit, which took her about 6 months to complete. After realizing that she had thousands of teeth, she decided to make something out of it, as a way to commemorate her late friend, however, she did not originally make all these teeth to be put in an exhibit. The reason she put the teeth on the floor was so that we were able to experience a minuscule part of what her friend had to go throughΒ leading up to her death.

I believe this was/is a great exhibit because it elaborated on something I knew existed but hadn’t acknowledged as much before. Suicide is unfortunately a way to escape the judgmental world we live in and unfortunately many people resort to it. Β My condolences go out to Christine Hudson, all those affected by suicide, and the lives lost.

I’d like to applaud Christine Hudson for sharing this very personal but powerful exhibit with us, thank you!

Leave a Reply

