Home

photo

Kickstarter Film Festival! What is it? Well it was an event where all the Kickstarter creators from LA came together to showcase their successful ideas. This was the first time that Kickstarter hosted the Film Festival in LA and I’ve got to say it was pretty great! It included over 20 LA-based creators and their creations including organic and vegan ice cream, from Peddler’s Creamery, skateboards made from recycled fishnets, from Bureo Skateboards, cold brewed coffee, from Secret Squirrel’s Cold Brewed Coffee, and many more! It was great to go out and see all of these ordinary people with their ideas successfully played out , and the fact that people believed in all of them to support their idea was amazing! Going out there and seeing them proud and happy because their dreams came true was very rewarding because it could be any one of us.

photoIn the picture,  we can see the beautiful Griffith Park skyline as well as the tents that housed the creators and the mphotoobile astronomical observatory. In the picture to the right is the blow-up screen where excerpts of the films funded by supporters were showed and let me tell you, these films were amazing! When I first got there I had no idea what to expect since I’ve never been to an event like this. I also had no idea what was going to be shown, I was such a noob!(sigh) The films that were shown however were very deserving of the funding they received. My favorite film was Planet Money’s, Planet Money Makes a T-shirt, which is a short documentary about how a shirt is made. It follows the t-shirt’s manufacturing process across 3 continents and it reveals the hidden world behind the clothes that is sold in the US, the people who make these shirts and how this job affects their lives economically. This gave me a new outlook on life, the person who made my shirt is struggling to stay afloat. It is definitely mind-boggling, which can describe the whole event in a nutshell, these people are so creative!

I am glad I went, it was a new experience and I was able to share it with my friends. We made a deal that we would come to the festival every year from now on!

Check out Kickstarter!

Leave a Reply

